Overview
PS 304 Hutchinson Central Technical High School, commonly called Hutch-Tech, is a public technical high school whose official information is published by Buffalo Public Schools in Buffalo, New York [1]. The school describes a college-preparatory and technical curriculum designed to prepare students for engineering schools and for entry-level technical positions in current technical fields [1]. Its official academics page states that all courses of study are college preparatory and that students are expected to complete a full New York State Regents program [2]. The retrieved official pages identify the school as PS 304 and use the shorthand Hutch-Tech, but they do not provide a street address or a complete grade span in the available excerpt [1][2].
Location and School Identity
The school is identified on the Buffalo Public Schools website as PS 304 Hutchinson Central Technical High School [1]. Its official pages are hosted under buffaloschools.org, the district website for Buffalo Public Schools, which is the governing organization indicated by the source [1][2]. The school is located in Buffalo, New York. Readers looking for a current campus address, phone number, or contact directory should use the official district page, because the retrieved school information and academics pages do not include those details [1][2].
The name Hutchinson Central Technical High School should not be confused with other schools that may use similar names in other districts. The operational details in this profile come from the Buffalo Public Schools pages for PS 304 [1][2]. The school’s own vision statement describes it as a technical preparatory high school in the greater Buffalo/Niagara region and says it seeks to celebrate the diversity of its students, staff, and community [1]. That statement is a school self-description, not an independent ranking or evaluation.
Grades and Academic Programs
The retrieved official pages do not list the full grade span in one place. They do state that students in grades 8 and 9 are eligible to take an entrance exam for admission, that the school accepts approximately 300 students to grade 9 each year, and that faculty address freshmen about technology major selection [1][2]. These details confirm grade 9 entry and freshman programming but should not be read as a complete grade-span statement.
Academically, the school is described as a criterion school where students are expected to complete a unique course of study that prepares them to graduate with a Regents Diploma with Advanced Designation [2]. The school information page states that the majority of students earn a Regents Diploma with Advanced Designation [1]. All courses of study are college preparatory, and students are expected to complete a full New York State Regents program [2]. The school also offers an extensive selection of college-preparatory courses, including Advanced Placement courses [1].
Technology majors are a distinctive part of the school’s program. During the third quarter of the first academic year, students select a technology major. Before that selection, faculty members address the freshmen and provide details about the respective programs, and counselors interview and advise students yearly about scheduling options [2]. The school information page lists programs in bio-chemical technology, computer technology, and engineering technology, with engineering technology covering electrical, mechanical, and architectural areas. Instruction in electricity and electronics is also provided [1]. Students have the opportunity to earn a Career and Technical Education, or CTE, designation on their diplomas [1].
Advanced Placement offerings listed on the school information page include AP English Composition, AP English Literature, AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Calculus, AP United States History, AP World History, AP Physics, AP Environmental Science, AP Seminar, and AP Capstone [1]. The school states that students have the opportunity to earn an AP Diploma [1]. The academics page adds that AP courses are taught in several academic areas and that AP exams are offered in English, Social Studies, Mathematics, Science, and World Language [2]. The two official pages describe AP offerings at different levels of detail; readers should confirm the current course catalog with the school.
Graduation requirements described on the academics page include physical education each year the student is in school, with one-half credit awarded for successful completion [2]. For Languages Other Than English, a ninth-grade student enrolled in a 1R LOTE course must pass the 1R course to earn one credit, and all students in a Level 2 LOTE class are required to sit for the Checkpoint B exam in their language of study, which may be French, Spanish, or Italian [2]. The page also lists required New York State Regents examinations that include English Language Arts, one mathematics examination from Algebra I, Algebra II, or Geometry, and Global; the retrieved excerpt is truncated after Global, so the complete current list should be verified with the school and the New York State Education Department [2].
The school offers extended learning time before and after school through the Tech Success Program [1]. It also reports 25 clubs and all major sports per season [1]. These are school-reported offerings from the official information page.
Enrollment and School Data
The official school information page states that the total school population is approximately 1,260 students and that the school accepts approximately 300 students to grade 9 each year [1]. The retrieved page does not state a reporting year for these figures in the available excerpt, so they should be treated as approximate, school-reported numbers rather than audited state data for a specific school year [1]. The retrieved sources do not include a student-teacher ratio, graduation rate, attendance rate, or assessment results for the school. Those measures, when available, are typically reported by the New York State Education Department through the School Report Card and by the National Center for Education Statistics, but those sources were not part of the retrieved evidence for this profile. Enrollment size alone does not indicate school quality, and these figures should be interpreted alongside current official data and the school’s program offerings.
Admissions and Enrollment
According to the school information page, students in grades 8 and 9 are eligible to take an entrance exam for admission [1]. The school accepts approximately 300 students to grade 9 each year [1]. The academics page describes Hutch Tech as a criterion school, but the retrieved excerpt does not specify the full current admissions criteria beyond the entrance exam reference [2]. The retrieved pages also do not provide application deadlines, exam dates, residency rules, or notification timelines. The retrieved pages do not state that neighborhood residence or district affiliation alone establishes admission; readers should contact Buffalo Public Schools or the school directly for the current application process, eligibility rules, and deadlines [1][2].
Student Services and Family Information
The retrieved official pages provide limited information about student services and family resources. The academics page states that counselors interview and advise students yearly about scheduling options [2]. The school information page describes the Tech Success Program as extended learning time offered before and after school [1]. It also reports 25 clubs and all major sports per season [1]. The retrieved pages do not describe accessibility accommodations, language support services, transportation, meals, health services, or family engagement programs. Because these services can vary by school year and by student need, families should verify current offerings directly with the school and Buffalo Public Schools rather than assuming that a service is available [1][2].
History and Community Context
The retrieved official pages do not provide a founding date, historical timeline, or verified community history for Hutchinson Central Technical High School. The school’s vision statement describes it as a technical preparatory high school in the greater Buffalo/Niagara region and emphasizes celebrating the diversity of its students, staff, and community [1]. The school information page also includes the school’s alma mater [1]. These items provide context about the school’s self-presentation, but they are not independent historical or evaluative claims. Readers seeking a verified history should consult Buffalo Public Schools archives or other official district records.
How to Verify Current Information
For current operational details, program offerings, admissions information, and contact information, consult the official Buffalo Public Schools pages for PS 304 Hutchinson Central Technical High School [1][2]. The school information page is the primary source for the school’s programs, enrollment figures, and admissions exam reference [1]. The academics page provides additional detail about course requirements, technology major selection, Advanced Placement, and graduation expectations [2]. For state-level accountability data, families can consult the New York State Education Department, including the School Report Card and SEDREF school directory, and for federal records, the National Center for Education Statistics. Those state and federal sources were not among the retrieved pages used for this profile, so no specific figures from them are reported here. Because policies and course offerings can change, verify details with the school or district before making decisions.