Overview
City Honors School is a public magnet school in Buffalo, New York, serving grades 5 through 12 as part of the Buffalo Public Schools system. The school describes itself as an urban magnet school with a focus on academic acceleration and the International Baccalaureate (IB) program, and its 2025–2026 profile identifies the campus as City Honors School at Fosdick-Masten Park [1]. The school’s own website states that it houses both the IB Diploma Programme for grades 11–12 and the IB Middle Years Programme for grades 5–10, and that every student at City Honors is an IB student [3].
Because City Honors is a magnet school rather than a conventional attendance-area school, families generally should not assume that living near the campus establishes eligibility to enroll. The sources reviewed for this profile do not describe the school’s application or selection procedures; those are administered through Buffalo Public Schools, and readers should confirm current requirements directly with the district [1][3].
Location and School Identity
The campus address published on the school’s website is 186 East North Street, Buffalo, NY 14204, with a main telephone number of (716) 816-4230 and a fax number of (716) 888-7145 [3]. The New York State Education Department (NYSED) lists the school’s legal name as CITY HONORS SCHOOL, with BEDS code 140600010102 and institution ID 800000052908, and gives the district website as buffaloschools.org [2]. The school’s own site is cityhonors.org [3].
City Honors is located in the city of Buffalo, whose population the school profile places at approximately 279,000 residents within a metropolitan area of about 1.2 million people; the same profile states that Buffalo Public Schools enroll approximately 31,000 students [1]. Readers searching for information about a school named “City Honors” should confirm they are looking at the Buffalo school by checking the address, BEDS code, and institution ID above, since school names can be similar across districts and states [2][3].
Two identifiers are useful when consulting official records. The BEDS code (140600010102) is the New York State building-level identifier used in state reporting, and the institution ID (800000052908) is the identifier used on the NYSED data site [2]. These identifiers allow families and researchers to distinguish this school’s records from district-level totals or from similarly named institutions.
Grades and Academic Programs
City Honors serves a combined middle and high school population. The 2025–2026 school profile lists enrollment in each grade from 5 through 12, confirming a grade span of 5–12 [1]. Within that span, the school’s website describes the IB Middle Years Programme as covering grades 5–10 and the IB Diploma Programme as covering grades 11–12 [3].
The school profile states that City Honors has been an IB World School since 1989 [1]. Authorization as an IB World School indicates that the school has been approved by the International Baccalaureate organization to offer its programmes; it is a programmatic designation rather than a ranking or an accreditation of the school as a whole.
Beyond the IB programmes, the profile lists several additional school-specific offerings:
- City Honors Science Research Program, described as operating at the Buffalo-Niagara Medical Campus [1].
- STARS, described as an autistic education program [1].
- International Baccalaureate Diploma Program and Middle Years Program, as noted above [1][3].
The profile also describes the school’s academic calendar structure as two semesters divided into four quarters [1]. Regarding honors designations, the profile states that City Honors does not compute class rank, does not designate Honor Roll or Merit Roll students, and does not have a National Honor Society chapter; academic awards are instead presented at an annual Senior Dinner [1]. Families comparing schools should note that these are school-specific policies as reported by the school itself.
Enrollment and School Data
Enrollment figures for City Honors come from two different sources with different reporting conventions, and they do not match exactly. The school’s 2025–2026 profile reports a total enrollment of 1,101 students [1]. NYSED’s school profile page lists 1,088 total students, but the page as retrieved does not state the reporting year for that figure [2]. Because the two numbers come from different publishers and potentially different reporting periods, they should be read as separate data points rather than as a discrepancy to be resolved.
| Grade | Students |
|---|---|
| 5 | 105 |
| 6 | 104 |
| 7 | 134 |
| 8 | 149 |
| 9 | 162 |
| 10 | 151 |
| 11 | 150 |
| 12 | 146 |
| Total | 1,101 |
NYSED reports a four-year graduation rate of 99% for the school [2]. Graduation rates describe the share of a defined cohort that graduates within four years; they are a single outcome measure and do not by themselves establish overall school quality, and the reporting period for the figure shown on the retrieved page is not specified there [2].
The 2025–2026 school profile provides additional context about the student body: 74% of students are identified as economically disadvantaged, students with special needs make up 14% of enrollment, and the profile reports a minority/majority enrollment split of 60% to 40%. It also reports 52 languages other than English spoken in student households [1]. These figures are school-reported and describe the composition of the student body; they are not measures of school performance.
On postsecondary outcomes, the profile states that the merit scholarship average for the Class of 2025 was $116,145 per graduate, excluding need-based aid, Excelsior, or Say Yes awards [1]. It further states that since 2013, City Honors graduates have received an estimated $17.5 million in scholarships and grants from Say Yes Buffalo and Say Yes to Education’s higher education partners [1]. Scholarship averages are self-reported by the school, vary by cohort, and exclude several categories of aid, so they should be interpreted with those limitations in mind.
Admissions and Enrollment
The sources reviewed for this profile do not describe City Honors’ application process, eligibility criteria, deadlines, or selection method. The school is identified as an urban magnet school within Buffalo Public Schools [1], and magnet schools are generally organized around a specialized program rather than a single neighborhood attendance boundary, but the specific rules that apply to City Honors are not documented in the available sources.
Families seeking current information about applying should contact Buffalo Public Schools directly, since the district administers enrollment for its schools, and should also consult the school’s official website for any program-specific guidance the school publishes [2][3]. Nothing in the available evidence should be read as guaranteeing admission, establishing neighborhood eligibility, or describing a timeline for applications.
Student Services and Family Information
The 2025–2026 profile lists three school counselors assigned alphabetically by student surname: Alexis Wright (A–G), Christie Allman (H–O), and Sandy Dunkleman (P–Z) [1]. The profile also lists the STARS program, described as an autistic education program, among the school’s special programs [1].
The school profile reports that 14% of students have special needs and that 52 languages other than English are spoken in student households [1]. Those figures indicate the presence of a linguistically and academically diverse student population, but they do not by themselves describe the specific services, staffing, or supports available to any individual student. Details about special education services, English language learner support, accessibility, and transportation are not covered in the sources reviewed here and should be confirmed with the school or district [2][3].
History and Community Context
The available sources provide limited historical information. The school profile states that City Honors has held IB World School authorization since 1989 [1], and it notes that Say Yes Buffalo, a local scholarship and support initiative, has been associated with the school’s graduates since 2013 [1]. A founding date for the school is not given in the sources reviewed, and none should be assumed.
The profile also lists several distinctions that the school reports: a number-one ranking among schools in Upstate New York from U.S. News & World Report in 2024, designation as a National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education in 2024, and AP Honor Roll Platinum status [1]. These are reported by the school in its own profile and are attributed here to that source; ranking methodologies and award criteria are defined by the organizations that issue them, and readers who want to evaluate such claims should consult those organizations directly.
How to Verify Current Information
Because enrollment figures, program offerings, staff assignments, and admissions procedures can change, readers should verify details with primary sources before making decisions:
- The school’s official website, cityhonors.org, for program descriptions, contact information, and school-published materials [3].
- Buffalo Public Schools, buffaloschools.org, the district listed by NYSED as the school’s governing organization, for enrollment and district-level information [2].
- The NYSED data site entry for City Honors School, which provides state-reported figures such as the four-year graduation rate and the school’s BEDS code and institution ID [2].
When comparing figures, note the publisher and the reporting period. School-published profiles and state data collections may cover different time frames and use different definitions, which is why the enrollment totals cited above differ between sources [1][2].